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TIPS FOR THE IMPROVING PLAYER  Lynley Jenkins & Cecily Critchley

THE FIRST RULE OF 
DECLARER PLAY

You are Declarer (West) and you & your 
partner find yourselves in 3NT after the 
following auction :
West	 North	 East	 South
1NT	 P	 2	 P
2*	 P	 3NT	 P
P                   P
2*: You are playing Simple Stayman so 
2 =  no 4-card major
North leads the Q and these are EW’s 
combined hands. Plan your play before 
you read on.
West                         East
« AQJ                       « 963
 732                        Q954
 K65                        A7
 KQJ8                     A763

You have 7 top tricks (1 spade, 2 
diamonds, and 4 clubs). There are 
no more tricks available in diamonds 
or clubs. You have no idea how to 
approach the heart suit. However there 
is a spade finesse available and if South 
does have the «K, then you can make 
3 spade tricks – but you will need to 
take the finesse twice. So your total will 
be 9 without ever touching hearts. But 
you will have to take your tricks in the 
correct order. Despite the 8-card club 
fit, your only club entry on the table 
is the Ace. And the only other entry in 
dummy is the A. You’re going to need 
both entries to take the spade finesse 
twice. And you’ll need to take the first 
finesse at trick 2.

Here you go. Win the diamond lead in 
dummy with the A. Then play a small 

spade towards the «J. If South plays 
low, insert the J. The «J holds. Looking 
good! Back over to dummy’s A and you 
repeat the spade finesse – the Q holds. 
Mission accomplished! You now have 9 
tricks.

What could have gone wrong? If you 
hadn’t made a plan before you played to 
Trick One. If you had nonchalantly won 
the •A, cashed your 4 high clubs ending 
in dummy, and only then made a plan! 
You’d be one trick short! You’d only be 
able to take the spade finesse once.

Another problem. Same contract. 
Different auction. Different problem? 
Not totally.

This time you’re South and West opens 
a Weak 2 in spades – promising a 6 card 
suit and 6-9 points. Somehow you & 
partner find yourselves in 3NT with you 
as declarer. 

Not surprisingly, West leads a spade – 
the «8 (leading 4th highest, you are told 
by East after you enquire). These are 
NS’s combined hands: 

North
« 3
 A5
 A10985
 A10985
South
« K1064
 KQ8
 QJ4
 QJ7

The first question you ask yourself is 
“What high cards does West have in 
his 6-card spade suit?” You can find the 
answer by applying the Rule of 11. But to 

apply the Rule of Eleven after West’s lead, 
you need to see what card East plays, so 
you decide to call for dummy’s «3. East 
produces the «Q. So what high cards does 
West have in spades?  Eight from eleven 
is three. This means there are three cards 
higher than the «8 outside of West’s 
hand. East has the «Q and you have the 
«K10. All three accounted for. It looks like 
West has something like « AJ98xx. 

So how does this help you to know 
whether or not to win your «K at trick 
one? Let’s think about West’s hand. Five 
points is light for a weak-2 opening so 
you think it likely West has one of the 
missing minor suit kings. If he has both 
then you have 14 tricks if you win the «K 
immediately!! 

But do you need either or both minor suit 
finesses to work? No. Not if you take the 
practical view and place East with just 2 
spades – the Q and another. West should 
have 6 spades for his bid, you have 4, 
dummy 1 – so East has 2.  You duck the 
«Q and the 2nd spade continued by East. 
As long as East does not have 3 spades, 
your contract is safe. It now doesn’t 
matter what West does. Because if East 
wins either or both minor suit Kings, you 
have 9 tricks. West can’t continue with a 
spade. You simply lose the first 2 spade 
tricks and 1 or 2 minor Kings.  Very clever 
of you. (For those of you still unsure, deal 
the spade suit as above on the table and 
try different actions by declarer.)

So how does this connect with our first 
declarer play problem? 

The first rule of declarer play: Do not win 
a trick until you are sure what you will 
do next and you have a PLAN. 

Can you make this little slam?
South as dealer was dealt this hand:
« AKJT96	  4	  AKJT	  AJ
She opened 2C with 21 HCP and 8 playing tricks.
West bid 3H, but North’s hand was
« Q83	  A7652	  64	  876
Since the North/South partnership was using controls over a 
2C opening and DOPI over interference, North correctly passed 
showing one Ace or two Kings.
South became interested in a little slam and the bidding 
proceeded as follows:
South	 West	 North	 East
2C	 3H	 P (DOPI)	 P
3S	 P	 4S	 P
4NT	 P	 5C (14/30)	 P
5D	 P	 5S	 P
6S	 P	 P	 P
Every response that South received from North was positive, 
telling South that North had at least three Spades including the 
SQ and the HA. Not being a wimp, she went for the little slam 
in Spades.
West led the HK as expected. Plan your play, before you see the 
East/West hands.
Did you duck the first trick? If you did, you have given yourself 
a chance to make the contract. You can see six Hearts in your 
two hands, and West bid 3H so he probably has seven and that 
should tell you that East is void in Hearts. Save that HA, as you 
will need it later to get rid of the CJ. Here are the hands in full.	
		  North
		  « Q83
		   A7652	
		   64	
		   876
	 West		  East
	 « 2		  « 754
	  KQJT983		   void
	  987		   Q532
	  Q2		   KT9542
		  South
		  « AKJT96
		   4
		   AKJT
		   AJ
When you ducked the first Heart lead East discarded the D2. 
West continued with the HQ and again you duck in dummy 
with East discarding the D3. But you ruff in hand and it must be 
with the S9 or higher. Play the SA and everybody follows. Now 
lead the carefully preserved S6 to the S8 and West shows out, 
leaving the defence with one little trump.
Now comes the moment of truth for you. Lead the D4 towards 
the DT. Fortunately East follows with the D5 and the finesse 
holds. Play ST to SQ to remove East’s last trump and now pitch 
the CJ on the HA. Repeat the finesse of the Diamonds, but East 
has to drop the DQ, which you cover. The remaining tricks are 
all in your hand.


